Home > Uncategorized > Letters from Paul and Steve: Part I

Letters from Paul and Steve: Part I

“I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do I do not do, but what I hate I do.”  Saint Paul, getting at the heart of human conflict, was writing about sin and virtue, but I think this is easily applicable to the less obvious decisions and choices we make as well.  For instance, why do so many of us get stuck in daily routines that we hate, but do nothing to make a change?  I personally find that I do this quite a bit when it comes to work and careers.  It’s so easy to get caught up in being comfortable in a job that I will often forego the effort to stretch myself and find something that I love as an alternative.  There are two things that keep the endless cycle of being stagnant and miserable flowing in circles, and those two things are laziness and fear.  I’m too lazy to make changes to my life, and I’m too scared $%^*less to risk those changes.  
 
However, during the inspirational moments of self-driven motivation, I find that laziness and fear flee from me like liberal voters the year after the presidential election.  Suddenly I am free to overcome my hated circumstances, but indecision swoops in, and I’m stuck without any idea which direction to move in.  It’s kind of like a quality game of freeze tag in 3rd grade recess, and you know you want to take off running, but you’re stuck, and you feel stupid because you just got tagged frozen by a cute girl that you’re too afraid to talk to and tell her how you really feel, so all you can come up with in your genius creative mind is to let her tag you, but it backfired because now you look stupid in front of your friends, and you can’t move…  My wife tells me that sometimes my thoughts go a little too far and kill a perfectly good moment. 
 
The point is that even if I overcome my weaknesses of laziness and fear, indecision sends me right back to where I started, stagnant, and hating where I am.  Indecision can be a weakness too, but sometimes it’s not our fault that decisions aren’t clear.  If I genuinely do not know the answer as to what I should do with my life, then how do I take that first step?  How do I get myself out of a jam when this is all I know?  I see a frightening percentage of people my age dealing with this every day.  I think that our culture is breeding indecision and making the black and white lines of purpose bleed through with grey.  I thought I would take a brief journey away from my usual banter of beautiful random nonsense and type up something of genuine concern.  More thoughts on the subject to come in the near future.   
Categories: Uncategorized Tags:
  1. November 16, 2009 at 9:30 pm

    Great post…I can relate to that quite a bit. But you’re not telling me how to overcome that indecision…Come on Steve, where’s the roadmap?

  2. SteveD
    November 16, 2009 at 9:44 pm

    ACNS Marketing has instructed me to leave people hanging for more posts with the intention of increasing daily readership and forcing people to check back more often.

  3. SteveD
    November 16, 2009 at 9:58 pm

    For the record, my post does not relate in any way to Chi McBride’s thoughts on success.

    Related Post Epic Fail.

  4. Mother Hen
    November 16, 2009 at 10:37 pm

    Steve,

    It’s not only people your age that deal with this, but peoples of all ages, in all ages.

  5. Mother Hen
    November 16, 2009 at 10:38 pm

    I don’t like the possibly related posts.

  6. November 16, 2009 at 10:44 pm

    I fixed it. They won’t show up anymore.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

