Home > Uncategorized > Letters from Paul and Steve: Part II

Letters from Paul and Steve: Part II

Continuing my thoughts on the plagues of indecision, it seems that we should take a look at some type of solution to overcome this. Otherwise, we will forever walk in circles, and be dizzy with nothing to show for it. I think the biggest tendency of having absolutely no idea what to do next is to sit and wait for the light bulbs to turn on, and the big neon sign to light up in the sky and give us the answers. Sometimes God does have cool ways of lighting those neon signs with divine revelation, but more often then not, patiently waiting with no direction only leads to more patiently waiting with no direction.

The biggest issue is that there is obviously no universal formula to our discernments. Sometimes we need dramatic change in which a single decision could change where we live, what we do, who we’re around, and maybe do a complete 180 on our current life situation. Sometimes we need something simple that will merely start the wheels turning and take us slowly to the next place. There is one thing that is univerally certain, and that is that change is only possible from making A decision and acting on it.

As I mentioned in my last post, the one area of life that continues to be a mystery to me with where I am called to be has been my career. The only time that I felt truly passionate about work was when I was going full time with my previous band, Friday Mourning, surviving one day at a time, and loving the entrepreneurial world of music. I made a dramatic decision to leave that behind three years ago when I realized it wasn’t what I was called to do. Since then I have felt very confident that I am where I need to be with my location, friends, family, marriage, and everything else. However, I have never really felt truly satisfied in my job doing sales, and I haven’t had a clue on what to do about it. I have been waiting now for three years to figure something out without actually doing anything. Within the past month I have finally made some decisions to look elsewhere and just TRY something new. I now have some cool options for new work, and although I’m not 100% positive that this is what I’m called to do, I fully believe that I will enjoy it more, and that it will take me closer to finding the answer of what I need to be doing.

Discernment is much easier said than done as it takes personal prayer, seeking counsel from others, looking at one’s current circumstances, and sifting through for the best of potentially multiple right decisions. I really believe that passive indecision relating to what our youth culture wants to do with their lives is growing and will only make us weaker. To conclude, I would like to seek out true wisdom from the 1991 classic, What About Bob, and say that it’s all about the baby steps. The only way to get somewhere is to move.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags:
  1. November 19, 2009 at 5:42 pm

    “The only way to get somewhere is to move.”

    I think there’s something to be said for movement – and trying to move forward, but there is also a need for patience in our lives…Letting God open the right doors for us to walk through…

    That breeds another question: How can you tell the difference between patience & passivity?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

