Home > Uncategorized > ***GEEK ALERT***

***GEEK ALERT***

I’m not normally one to do “serious” or “informative” posts here…I tend to stick with the ridiculous or asinine, but my new toy has provoked a reaction from me. I can’t contain myself.

I received my new HTC Droid Eris from Verizon via FedEx yesterday (I hate FedEx. UPS is the bomb.com…another day), and it was quite exciting. I had to renew my 2 year contract with Verizon, but I got the phone for $30 instead of $100. Yes, I sold my soul again for $70.

Instead of posting a full review of the phone, I’m just going to tell you how awesome it is. Many people pick on my Apple fan-boyishness when it comes to technology. I’ll admit, I’m writing this on my MacBook Pro right now, and I have a certain affinity for Apple’s product line. However, I must admit that my Google fan-boyishness is quickly superceding any loyalty I have for the “Cult of Mac“.

In the 2 days I’ve had my phone, I’ve been extremely impressed with the customizability combined with the functionality & quality. That’s what’s tipped me over the edge as an iPhone apologist. Android’s ability to run programs in the background is extremely helpful, and the 5-megapixel camera is pretty sweet. I haven’t recorded any video yet, but I’ve heard it’s not great.

I could probably go on for days about how sweet this phone is, and where the iPhone is lacking, but I’ll just stop here & leave you hanging (because I know you’re just holding on to every word).

Now, if only Android had the push email like Blackberry…

</geekiness>

  1. SteveD
    January 19, 2010 at 2:29 pm

    or push email like the IPHONE??

    couldn’t help myself.

  2. January 19, 2010 at 2:36 pm

    Or the ability to run multiple apps at the same time like the iPhone?…wait…

  3. Dan Bozek
    January 19, 2010 at 7:47 pm

    I’m gonna blanketly say that my iPhone, jailbroken with all the little extras I’ve added and customized beats the sh*t out of any of the other smartphone alternatives. I do like the Droid phones that I’ve played with, but the iPhone is far superior to begin with and when you jailbreak it you can add most of the other small things you like from the Droid (like status notifications on the top of the screen and on the lock screen, haptic vibration feedback when typing or pressing buttons, and the ability to have an application run as a background task, I.E. and IM program.

    I’ve also been enjoying using VNC to control my iPhone on my computer using my wireless network.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

