Home > Uncategorized > What’s next?

What’s next?

I am a serial hobbyist. I don’t have A.D.D, but I simply get extremely passionate about something new once a month, and have been this way my entire life. The end result of this is that I am not an expert at any one thing, but I enjoy doing lots of things for a given period of time. A successful hobby phase for me can last anywhere from one hour to three months. The best ones come back in the cycle on a regular basis (guitar has a permanent spot on my rotation). It’s also important to know that I don’t get frustrated or feel like a failure when I decide I’m done putting effort into a given hobby (ie I did P90X for 6 weeks and then quit so I could put more effort into eating and drinking. I don’t regret those 6 weeks, and I don’t feel upset with myself for quitting). My mother does NOT understand this.

I would probably have enough money saved up to buy a nice car or put a down payment on a house if I could get back all of the money I have thrown into new interests over the course of my life. When I told my wife yesterday that I wanted to buy a comprehensive 20 DVD set of guitar lessons to get better she asked me if I’d really stick with it. Would it be worth $150, or would it sit in my closet next to the P90X DVD’s? OH SNAP!! …She’s got a point though. There’s a great chance that I would do three weeks of the lessons and then never touch it again.

There are times I wish I was more disciplined to stick with certain things even when I get tired of them. However, at the end of the day I love my wandering personality that has lead me to try so many different things. Life is full of so many opportunities and I want to experience as many of them as I can while I’m here.

  1. January 19, 2010 at 6:14 pm

    Ahh, Steve, I, Lucas’ mother, understand – because I am the same way. Geneology is a perennial favorite of mine, soon to be followed by gardening- (lasagne gardening this year. I think Lucas gets his hyper stuff from me. Sigh.

  2. SteveD
    January 19, 2010 at 6:18 pm

    Thanks for the support, Mother Hen!

    • January 20, 2010 at 1:52 pm

      You’re welcome – today I will be organizing my books – that will last for about 15 minutes!

  3. danbozek
    January 19, 2010 at 6:45 pm

    “I did P90X for 6 weeks and then quit so I could put more effort into eating and drinking.” I’m pretty sure that is the quote of the day.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

