Home > Uncategorized > SNOWBAL WARMING

SNOWBAL WARMING

SteveD here!  I apologize for my mysterious absence over the last month and a half from writing wonderful life insights.  I recently accepted a new job at a sweet company called Three Pillar Global, and unlike my last job I’m treating this one a bit more seriously.  If you’ve been staying up late at nights and losing sleep wondering if I was a victim of swine flu, working undercover with the CIA, attacked by a bear, or writing for a competitor blog like http://www.catswithblogs.org/ you may be right and you may be wrong.  Those are still very real possibilities, so please don’t stop your restless mind games on my whereabouts.

Today is a special day in Northern Virginia.  Today our local community wages war on the snowfall record of 1922 with hopes of surpassing 28 inches of cold whiteness.  What does this mean to me?  It means I get to work from home and listen to Owl City while dreamily staring out my wintery window in a fashionable emo gaze.  It also means I get to be a part of local history.  It’s already been a monumental year as the year of the swine flu (as Lucas pointed out previously), the year of out of control government spending, and now it’s the year of insane snow!  I feel that it ties in perfectly with our culture of excess and maybe the snow is simply here as a grand and masterful allegory of American society .  Maybe the snow is simply a slap in the face to the global warming junkies.  After all, there has never been a winter in Washington DC with two massive snow storms in the same year since as long as we have paid people to tell us about the weather.   Or maybe, just maybe, it means that warm air associated with an extratropical cyclone flowing up and over the cold air surrounding part of the cyclone. The air being lifted, combined with the abundant water vapor available in the warm air mass, causes cloud water to keep forming. This cloud water is collected by falling ice particles, which grow as the super-cooled cloud water freezes. The ice particles in the clouds grow and combine to become so large that upward flowing air the clouds can no longer support them, and they fall to the ground. The more water vapor there is available to the cloud, and the stronger the updrafts that cause this water vapor to condense into cloud water or ice particles, the more likely it is that snow will form within the cloud.

Who really knows for sure though??  It could mean anything.

  1. Teddy
    February 5, 2010 at 9:20 pm

    Sweet, I love Adam Young. Or at least I like the music he makes. Especially when Matt Thiessen does backing vocals.

    Sorry about the snow. Maybe you should move to Ohio. I wore shorts to work today.

  2. thaddeusbort
    February 5, 2010 at 9:25 pm

    I can’t believe you are moderating my comments. I even updated my icon just for you.

    What a jerk.

  3. February 8, 2010 at 4:11 pm

    Thanks for reading the blog Teddy!

  4. SteveD
    February 8, 2010 at 4:15 pm

    I would keep writing even if Teddy was the only reader of the blog.

  5. Albert Bloomfield
    February 8, 2010 at 4:18 pm

    I read it too

    • lucas
      February 8, 2010 at 10:30 pm

      But I don’t moderate your comments Al. I have to watch out for Teddy’s hate mail though.

  6. Teddy
    February 8, 2010 at 4:18 pm

    Sorry guys but I stopped reading after my comments got moderated.

  7. lucas
    February 8, 2010 at 10:28 pm

    Apparently not…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

