Home > Uncategorized > It’s Not Me, It’s You.

It’s Not Me, It’s You.

This is how I feel.

Yeah.

Notre Dame.  Notre Dame, Notre Dame, Notre Dame, Notre Dame.  Notre Dame.  To speak of you was to speak of love.  Of good ol’ Catholic domination.   Over the years, things have changed.  Lou Holtz retired, then went to South Carolina, left South Carolina, then slowly became the loveable but nutty and hard to understand grandfather of ESPN.  Let’s be honest:  For the past ten years that was the best part of Notre Dame athletics.

If the Franciscan University of Steubenville has to bring in the vest to come and speak on matters of faith and football, something is amiss.   As a (somewhat) rational Catholic male, I have to call it like I see it.

Notre Dame, I’m sorry, but its time to end this.

You have broken my heart for the last time. I put up with the horrendous defense. I put up with this guy.   Year after year of poor NCAA tournament performances.  But this?  Old Dominion?  Are you serious?  I had you going to the final four.   I know it was a pipe dream, but at least give me the sweet sixteen.  Or a second round birth at minimum.  How did it come to this?  Does Jesus hate you?  Does Jesus hate me?  None of this makes sense.  And all I see is more darkness for the future. You’re the Jon to my Kate.  Mike Brown to my Cincinnati.  This guy to Chicago.   Boomer to my Tyrol.

So I bid you adieu.  Don’t act like you didn’t see this coming.  Just so there is no confusion, let me be clear:  there is someone else. Since about 2002.  And let’s be honest:  you knew it’s been this way for a while.   So Notre Dame, I bid you adieu.  It’s all scarlet and grey from here on out.

(Well unless you win a BSC Bowl Game next year, then we’ll pretend this whole thing never happened.)

By the way, I’m Luke.  I’ll be blogging on here form time to time.  Sorry for the horrendous grammar.  You’re welcome for the awesomeness.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

