Home > Uncategorized > Anti-Social Week

Anti-Social Week

Recharging my batteries

I love my friends. In fact, I would say that my friends are better than yours. I’m not being cocky or arrogant, just speaking the truth. The truth is, however, that I am on sensory overload, so I have dubbed this week “anti-social week”. After 11 days filled with 2 road trips, 2 nights of hotel room sleep (in other words, not very good), 3 nights of sleeping on the floor & 6 shows, I am taking a week off to recharge my batteries.

What does that mean? It means that I probably won’t answer my phone if anyone calls. I probably won’t hang out with anyone but Steve & Bill, and I plan on getting plenty of sleep. I’m excited.

On another note, I just had a physical last week & I’ve got high cholesterol. ‘Operation: GET IN SHAPE’ has now commenced. I’m cutting out all fast food, starting to excercise again & quitting smoking for good. 26 years old is too young to be worrying about all this stuff, but I’ve always been an early developer (except in the beard department). Did you know that having 2 alcoholic drinks a day helps raise your HDL levels (the “good” cholesterol)? I will keep that in mind. The excercising part will suck, because I hate running for the sake of running, or lifting weights for the sake of lifting weights, but it’s all part of the game. Pray for me.

I just bought Chris Walla’s solo album this past weekend. It’s pretty good. I think I was hoping for something a little more removed from Death Cab for Cutie, but I like it nonetheless. Regardless of that, he is still one of my favorite record producers.

There I was, sitting shotgun in a van on the return trip to Cincinnati from Omaha with the band, watching The Office on my MacBook Pro & wishing that I had internet access. Then it occurred to me that I am awesome. I downloaded a tethering application onto my phone, then downloaded the desktop software to my phone as well. After installing the desktop software on my laptop via my phone’s memory card, I synced both of my nerd-boxes & started surfing away at 70 miles an hour in the middle of Normal, IL. YouTube worked quite well, and I was thankful that I don’t have an iPhone.  Because you can’t do that with an iPhone. Haha suckers!

Has anyone ever tried Mystic Monk Coffee? Is it worth it? I hear it’s decent, but I want to be blown away before I order it. I’m intrigued though.

President Obama just signed the Healthcare Bill. What’s the timeframe for the repeal of the Executive Order prohibiting federal funds from going toward abortions? I would bet that it won’t be long.

It’s a struggle to be mentally engaged at work when I know my days here at my current job are about to end. Despite the difficulty, I’m working as hard as ever to leave a good impression with my current employer. Never underestimate the power of  a good reference!

On that same note, I think it’s kinda funny how I follow SteveD in changing jobs. When we moved out of our house in Steubenville & back home to Cincinnati & Virginia, respectively, he got a job the week before I did. Now he’s a month or 2 ahead of me in the career change, but I have no doubt I can catch up.

The iPad hasn’t even come out yet, and I find myself intrigued by it now. At first, I was apprehensive about the practical application of such a device, but now I’m coming around a bit…It doesn’t mean that I’m going to go buy one anytime soon, but if a good deal presents itself, it will be hard to pass up. Maybe I should pay off my current computer first…Going debt-free is tough, but it’s worth the sacrifices!

I feel completely uninteresting today. And I don’t care.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags:
  1. Lisa
    March 24, 2010 at 7:07 pm

    Doesn’t being anti-social mean not tweeting and not posting on your blog?

  2. March 24, 2010 at 7:12 pm

    Nope! It means that I am pretty much just not answering my phone or hanging out with anyone.

  3. Ellie
    March 25, 2010 at 8:59 pm

    Mystic Monk is good! Some friends give us a bag for Christmas each year. If we weren’t saving for a house it would easily be in the budget.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

