Home > Uncategorized > The 20’s

The 20’s

The 20’s are an interesting time in a person’s life. They’re a decade of transitions; from experiencing the thrill and independence of college life to the responsibilities of the adult world. Some people start families, others focus on careers, still others wander.

Count me in as a wanderer.  Over the past 3 years I’ve been to probably 15-20 weddings, moved back home from my college town, driven halfway across the country with 2 different bands, started and ended my first ‘career’ type job, about to move on to a second, been through 3 housemates, and I’ve seen different friends come and go as they follow their own vocations. In short, the only constant in my life is change.

By no means am I complaining, as this is life in the adult world. But I think life has more to offer than constant change. As a Catholic, I see the importance of having roots in life to keep grounded amidst all the noise of change. My family is a perfect example of my roots. My parents are consistently “there” for me with advice or listening ears, I love seeing my older sisters & their families grow, and I take pride in being a role model for my younger siblings. These are all supplemental roots that help enrich the pinnacle of all roots, which is Faith in Christ through the Church.  But despite these constants, I still find myself wandering.

I’m not sure what my place is in life. Surely, it’s not spending most weekends at bars or playing organized sports in the Summer. It’s not living for a life of pleasure, and it’s not to make a ton of money so I can sit around and count how superior I am. I’ve been blessed with many gifts (Waaaay too many to name ;-)), and wonderful friends, but oftentimes I feel as if I am on an island.

There have been many times when I’ve felt close to my friends, and always I cherish every moment spent with my family, but there still seems to be a void when it comes to truly deep communion with others. I know I’m not alone in my feelings, as I know I share them with many mid-20’s single Catholics. But there is hope.

Amidst all the changes, seeming lack of direction, and solitude in this stage of life, I realize that God is preparing me for something. Obviously, I have no clue what that may be, but the best and only thing I can do is let myself be molded into the Catholic man He wants me to be. As I get older, the feeling of youthful invincibility has worn thin, and all I’m left with is Faith. This faith, combined with the docility and desire to follow God’s will instead of my own will hopefully lead to a life rooted in truth, bearing fruit in heavenly communion with Him.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags:
  1. MomE
    March 31, 2010 at 1:40 pm

    You should take a little time and pray about becoming a priest.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

