Home > Uncategorized > Are These Servings for Ants?!

Are These Servings for Ants?!

I don’t know who they put in charge of determining Nutrition Facts for  food, but these people should be arrested they are so bad at their job.  I’m sure their measurements of Vitamin C, Zinc, and Sodium are spot on, but when it comes to determining a serving size, these people must be on crack.  The only other conclusion that can be made is these people are very little.  Little people might eat less or use smaller plates and bowls.

Let’s get straight to examples.  A serving size of any American cereal is  barely enough food to satisfy a small child.  It barely covers the bottom of the bowl.  Maybe these health experts have determined that 110 calories is all that the human should intake for daily cereal, but that goes against the very notion of the “bowl of cereal.”  I have never seen a bowl small enough to accommodate a serving size of cereal.  Therefore, these so-called serving sizes are at best Un-American.  I guarantee that you are having at least 3 or 4 servings every time you sit down for breakfast.  Does that make you feel fat?  It shouldn’t.  It should make you red with rage towards the health Nazis telling you to only eat three spoonfuls of tasty Kellogg’s goodness.

Or how about Pringles?  Or any snack food for that matter?  A serving size is a few handfuls.  When I open a can of Pringles I intend to finish that can.  I don’t open a can of soda, drink 10% and then save the rest for later.  That would be ridiculous!  I crush the can in one sitting.

My point is this.  Serving Sizes are not accurate.  They are lies.  In the name of truth, I demand some accountability and some honesty!  If you can tell me the last time you ate the recommended serving and you weren’t on a strange diet then please let me know because I’m losing faith quickly, and I no longer trust nutritional facts.  What is the world coming to??

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: ,
  1. April 20, 2010 at 5:30 pm

    Corporate GREED!!!!! How DARE they!!!

  2. April 20, 2010 at 9:13 pm

    I have this image of Derek Zoolander incredulously vocalizing his displeasure with a bowl of cereal using the exact same words as the title of this post.

    I lol’d.

  3. Larry
    April 21, 2010 at 5:00 am

    Agreed. I have always thought it was silly that they should expect anyone to be eating such a small fraction of a meal and calling it a ‘serving’. Or, how a bottles of soda contain something like a serving and a half?!

  4. April 21, 2010 at 9:50 pm

    I also just did the math. Let’s say an ant weighs 0.1 ounces. General knowledge would tell you that the ant, on a hungry day would eat about .002 ounces that day.

    Extrapolate those numbers out & for a 200 lb man, he would have to eat 4 lbs of food in a day.

    I’m roughly around 200 lbs and I had a Chipotle burrito yesterday, so I think I beat my 4 lbs.

    Don’t ask me the point of all this. I’m a nerd, ok?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

