Home > Uncategorized > Peanut Butter & Jelly

Peanut Butter & Jelly

It seems like such a simple concept; take two slices of bread, slap peanut butter on one, jelly on the other and stick ’em together. But there’s so much more.

There’s an entire process behind the construction of a proper PB & J. Some might say that I obsess over minute details, but every step I take in creating the perfect sandwich has real and palatable meaning. The details range from the bread selection to the situational consumption of such a delectable delight.

While I can’t  cover all the details tonight, I must say that whoever dare challenge me on the proper preparation on a peanut butter & jelly sandwich is most likely very very misled.

There are few things in this world better than a double-decker PB & J on wheat toast with a glass of whole milk.

Maybe sometime soon I’ll map out the proper way to prepare such a delight. In the meantime, Feel free to email me with questions on the best way to make such a simple, yet complex treat. I’m serious, I take this seriously. I’m an expert on the subject.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags:
  1. April 21, 2010 at 7:40 am

    DUDE…

    “I must say that whoever dare challenge me on the proper preparation on a peanut butter & jelly sandwich is most likely very very misled.”

    I take that seriously and personal! NEVER, I mean…N E V E R…put a challenge out, where an old man with a 6ft Nane,r can take UP that challenge!

    First, what does a PBJ and Cool Runnings have in common? I will get to that last. K? k!

    Second, when it comes to the fine art of ANYTHING related to bologna, PBJ’s or hamster on a stick, (things get tight end of month) ya need to get with an ole, fat and gray guy that has, is and always will be…been there, DONE THAT, doing it.

    K, there is one MAJOR flaw that is apparent in your final product. This is HUGE so pay very close attention….IT MUST BE FRIED! Got it? You are close, but to bring out the full flavor it must be buttered on both sides, (no cheap ya think it is butter butt it is not crap either) slowly grill, in a properly heated frying pan, until each side is golden brown, let cool for approximately one minute and thirty seconds. (time may very depending on room conditions)

    There …. ya have it! What say ye?

    Oh, yea..PBJ and Cool Runnings…..

    P eace B e da J ourney, mon!

    Bro 🙂

  2. April 21, 2010 at 9:45 pm

    Ok, so I tried a fried PB & J for dinner this evening, and I have to say that while it has its meritous qualities, the lack of functionality in the design of the sandwich is somewhat disconcerting. Most of the contents fell onto my plate in the first bite. I don’t see it becoming a regular staple of my diet…as opposed to…

    PB & J double decker on toast! I’m talking gobs of peanut butter here. Gobs of perfectly melted peanut butter offset by the soothing cool sensation of GRAPE jelly…yes, it must be grape – NO EXCEPTIONS. Top it all off with a tall glass of milk (whole is preferred, but 2% is the norm around my house…), and you’re in heaven.

    This brings me to another point – toaster ovens are awesome. At the moment I have a 2-slice toaster and it’s driving me nuts that I can’t toast 3 slices of bread at the same time. They just never think of these things when they’re inventing them…

    I have a feeling we’ll never agree on this point. But I love a good argument :^)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

