Home > Uncategorized > This Picture Is Awesome (God’s Will)

This Picture Is Awesome (God’s Will)

Hypnotizing

For five years I have been wrestling with the idea of God’s will.   Five years ago I got dumped. Hardcore. It had never really happened to me.  We’re talking about serious relationships. Not write a note to Jen something something in kindergarten asking her to circle yes if she wanted to be my girlfriend or no if she didn’t.  (She circled no and the  seeds that would bloom in 2001 when I first heard Clarity were planted.)

Anyway, 2005, me, dumped. It was a long distance relationship. She was awesome. I thought I was awesome. She reached a point where she didn’t think I was so awesome anymore. It happens. But I was blindsided. Looking back on it, I don’t think it was so much the girl who made it hard. Great as she was/is. (We actually became pretty good friends later on.) The biggest problem was she felt God was calling her to end the relationship. I didn’t. At all.

One of the reasons I became a Christian was because I thought the idea of God having a will was great. I mean, He’s God. Why not follow it? By default it has to be better than mine. It just made sense. I liked the idea of a God with a plan. It was enjoyable. Still is. But as the years progressed it became a problem. And in 2005 it came to a halt. I’ve been in a Jacobean struggle ever since.

I know a lot of tools. I know a lot of good people. I know a lot of tools that move from girl to girl. I know a lot of good people who want to date other good people but spend years alone. Spare me the whole ‘girls like bad boys.’ Insecure girls like bad boys. But that’s another discussion. I’m talking about real relationships. The kind that involve the ‘L’ word. I’ve heard lots and lots of folks say, “God brought us together.” I didn’t use to doubt that. I do now. Kinda.

See when I was dumped, it was the exact opposite of what I, and I would dare say-prayerfully, thought God wanted. How could two prayerful people come up with two drastically different answers? How could a tool have so many relationships while another much better person come up with so little? I know this isn’t  “How could an all-powerful God let something like the Holocaust happen?’, but for me, it was a very hard concept to grasp. I think it’s because it was something I was experiencing as opposed to a theoretical discussion.

I wrestled with this for a long time. I think I’ve found my answer. Kinda. I think we sometime put too much on God. I think God puts people/things in our life, but it’s ultimately up to us regarding what we do with them. God can, in turn, bless these things. But it’s still up to us.  Maybe.

I often wonder if God has an opinion. As in, option ‘A’ might be best, but if you go with ‘B’, God isn’t going to think much of it. This could complete be heresy. This is just what I’m struggling with right now.

Ultimately, I believe God presents us with opportunities. We can either chose to take them or not. I find it rather hopeful that there will always be opportunities. Please feel free to post your comments below. I would love to see/discuss your thoughts on this matter. And remember: Chuck Norris tuned 70 recently. That’s nuts.

P.S.  I’m staring to think John Mayer doesn’t suck.

  1. Brian
    April 30, 2010 at 8:37 am

    I think you are crazy if that song makes you think that John Mayer ‘doesn’t suck’ because that song makes me want to curl up into the fetal position. I would say the he easily fits in to the tool category that you talk about in your post, what with his public revelation about his private life and the fact that he wears double-popped colors, as evidenced in this video: poppin’ collars!

    Dude can play guitar, though.

  2. April 30, 2010 at 3:13 pm

    Well said, Luke.

    I feel very similar in a lot of ways. I do think that God has an ultimate plan for all of us, and it’s our work to continually submit ourselves to His Will. I had a conversation with a friend last night about how it’s in the human condition to want to control everything in our lives & play God.

    Who knows? Maybe it was in God’s Will for you to struggle with your experience of it so you can appreciate it more fully – I do believe that everything does have meaning behind it, and that even when things don’t go our way, it’s our earnest faithfulness to God’s Will to the best of our abilities that counts.

    That’s just my $0.02 on the topic. I’ve got a long way to go in figuring it out myself. That’s the cool thing about free will though – we have a say in the matter!

  3. G
    April 30, 2010 at 10:17 pm

    Who the heck is Luke Carey?!

  4. May 1, 2010 at 11:07 am

    Dude, he’s only been writing on the blog for a couple months…way to keep up G.

  5. lukecarey
    May 3, 2010 at 7:15 am

    Here’s a great article by Donald Miller on the subject matter. Don’t know if I agree with it 100%, but it’s Donald Miller. So it’s gotta be good.

    http://donmilleris.com/2010/04/29/does-god-have-a-specific-plan-for-your-life-probably-not/

  6. G
    May 5, 2010 at 4:37 pm

    I know he’s been writing. This is just the first time I’ve mentioned not being acquainted with him. So…?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

