Home > Uncategorized > I’m “Back”.

I’m “Back”.

Good afternoon fine sirs.

Coming to you straight from the discomfort of my own bed. The perfect weekend storm which included 24 hours of overnight driving, a wedding reception, overthrowing a baseball for an hour, playing softball for 2 hours, and sand volleyball for about 15 minutes. I think it was the jumping that did me in.

That perfect storm led to my current predicament, which is lying here in my bed, unable to sit upright for any length of time, ingesting multiple medications and icing down my back in between visits to the chiropractor. I severely sprained my back playing volleyball. It’s some of the worst pain you can imagine – maybe not the physical pain itself, but the torment of not being able to move at all. It’ll make you realize your helplessness pretty quickly.

Thankfully, I have a wonderful mother who has been taking care of me. She’s made me food, gotten my prescriptions, taken me to the doctor, helped me put on pants…you know, the whole 9 yards. Thanks Mom.

Anyway, it’s amazing what you take for granted. A healthy back is one of those things that is usually overlooked. Maybe I should thank my back more. Maybe if I give it more recognition it won’t make so much noise and threaten to unionize on me. It deserves a raise too.

All I mean to say is that you should think about your back more often. Maybe take it out for ice cream once in a while – you know, keep it happy. Because if your back ain’t happy, then you ain’t happy. Trust me.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: ,
  1. maria
    June 2, 2010 at 1:36 pm

    Yuck…hope it’s better soon.

  2. Mom
    June 2, 2010 at 4:05 pm

    You’re welcome. Fortunately I didn’t have to help with bathroom chores.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment