Home > Uncategorized > Recovery Sunday

Recovery Sunday

I guess this guy didn't like the way he looked without a mustache...

I guess you could classify most Sundays as “recovery Sundays”, given the fact that after a long week of work & the usual full Saturday schedule, I need a day to catch up on sleep & act like the introvert I’m not. This Sunday is different – I really only worked a day and a half last week, but I’m still recovering from a sprained/strained back/butt & the hangage of last night.

This past week would be considered a rough week by just about any standards. It started with a 12-hour drive back from Nebraska, where I attended a wedding, and after I got home, I took a 3 hour nap and off I went to a graduation/Memorial day party. The party was a blast – softball, food & sand volleyball. The volleyball game was the straw that broke my back – I couldn’t even walk. After being bedridden for Tuesday, Wednesday, & half of Thursday, I woke up to go to work on Friday morning, only to find that my car had been broken into & a window broken. Last night was the culmination of the week when I DJ’d my buddy Matt’s wedding reception. I think the shining moment of the night was when I played 3 different songs in a span of about 15 seconds by accident. Professional.

As it turns out, 2 other cars on my street had been broken into, and some items stolen. Personally, I had about $4 in change & a Zippo lighter stolen from my car. The thieves left my stereo, a couple of checkbooks, & various other articles that you would have thought they would snatch up, but burglars are dumb nowadays. I would have given them $5 if they had just asked…eh, probably not.

Anyway, after all that it seems like I had a pretty crappy week, but I didn’t. I don’t know why, but I was able to just keep rollin’ along. That’s a good feeling.

This post from Art of Manliness makes a good point about vocations. Not necessarily in the Catholic sense of the word (ie Priesthood or religious life), but just in general. The fact that I can still smile after a week like the last one is a good indicator that I’m on the right track.

What a week.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

