Home > Uncategorized > “Gardenhoser!”

“Gardenhoser!”

I am inspired today by the realization that the movie “Rookie of The Year” came out 17 years ago today. It remains one of my favorite movies of all time, and it also makes me realize that there hasn’t been a good baseball movie in quite a long time. I guess baseball isn’t quite the pastime it used to be.

I quit smoking last week. Day #8 without cigarettes sure beats the hell out of day #1 or 2. I’ve tried to quit smoking before, but I think this is it. I’m tired of spending the money, I’m tired of  being a slave to addiction, and I’m tired of feeling like crap. Plus, I smell a lot better. Goodbye tobacco!

My good friend Jake just sent me this link, which excites my entrepreneurial spirit.  I will start my own company one day. Hopefully sooner rather than later.

I just joined Netflix this week. I don’t know how I feel about it yet. For some reason, I don’t like to commit to watching a DVD, but I don’t mind playing a movie on my computer & walking around while watching it in spurts. The problem is the “Watch Instantly” selection just isn’t that good. Do I really want to spend the $9 a month? Do I have better ways to spend my time? Probably.

New project: Repair the stone barbecue in my backyard. First order of business? Clear out the weeds & brush from around it & figure out how the hell to do it. Next step? Actually doing it instead of talking about it. It’ll be nice if I ever make it happen.

I went back to my regular old flip-phone today. This switch wasn’t out of some crazy technology-purging epiphany or anything, but because the “smartphone” gave me more headaches than I cared for. For as slow as Apple is at adding features to their portable devices, at least everything works once it’s there. I can appreciate that.

Would you join a social network created by Google? I’m not so sure I would. It seems to me that the best social networking sites just kind of happen. I was on Facebook in 2005 & Twitter in 2008 – well before everyone had heard of them, then they just blew up because they provided a solution to a problem people didn’t even know they had. If this new social network is modeled after Facebook it would just seem to be redundant & boring to me. Come up with something I don’t know I need, and I’ll join, Google.

I feel like I should get a massage. After severely injuring my back a couple months ago, it’s been tight as hell. For some reason, the idea of getting a massage scares me. Maybe it’s the vulnerability factor of somebody touching me while I lie on a table. Maybe it’s just paying somebody to touch me. Screw it, I need one.

I leave you with a Zedonk.

  1. Bill
    July 31, 2010 at 1:06 pm

    Funky Buttlovin’!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

