Home > Uncategorized > Manly Things

Manly Things

Manly? I think so.



Last post, I wrote about my desire to ruthlessly and humanely trap a rabbit and eat it. The idea hasn’t stopped there. It’s only fed my desire to experience manly things on a daily basis.
The issue is that there’s roadblocks I have to overcome before I can accomplish these things. Here’s what I’m thinking about, what’s holding me back, and how I’m gonna get moving on these goals:

Home-Brewed Beer
In recent months, I’ve become quite the craft beer enthusiast. I want to start brewing my own beer & actually become good at it. There’s such a rich brewing history in Cincinnati, and I’d love to join the club. Here’s what’s holding me back:

  • I have no idea what equipment I need to start
  • Walking into a brewing store & buying everything all at once would make me feel like a total n00b.
  • Brewing alone just seems wrong.

Ok, these things don’t seem like large obstacles to overcome, but in all reality, the idea of brewing alone is kinda boring. Maybe it’s my extraverted personality or maybe it’s my perception of the way things should be, but brewing beer seems communal. I’ve come up with one solution to all of my issues – find someone who already brews their own beer, and learn the ropes. My brewing-accomplished friend Jeremy has already agreed to let me brew with him. Goal #1 planned for 2 weeks for now.

Straight Razor Shaving
Everyone knows about The Art of Manliness already, so I’ll spare the introduction. I was inspired by this post to work on my “manliness factor”. Here are my roadblocks:

  • Cost of entry
  • Having to wake up earlier to shave
  • Fear of killing myself

I have issues spending $12 on a 4-pack of razor cartridges, and I also have commitment issues regarding the purchase of everything needed to even begin straight razor shaving. If I’m going to buy everything needed to start, I damn well better be shaving with that straight razor for a while. It’s like joining a gym or getting into a relationship – scared of the investment because I don’t think I’ll be interested in a couple months.

I don’t know how I’m going to overcome these roadblocks other than a spontaneous desire to be extremely manly. It’s happened before & it’ll happen again. We’ll see what happens when this all goes down. I’ll keep you in the loop.

Buying A House
It’s not settled by any means, but I’m in negotiations to buy my house. For those of you who don’t know, I live in the house where my dad grew up, and it’s been on the market since July of last year. When the house went on the market, purchasing it wasn’t anywhere near the forefront of my mind – not because I didn’t want to, but because I couldn’t afford it. Somewhere in-between then & now, I paid off some debt, learned how to budget my money, and got a nice raise at work. I’m hoping I can buy the house by May of this year once we settle on a price. What’s holding me back?

  • Commitment
  • Lack of a wife
  • It’s a mile from my parents’ house

Let’s attack #3 first. It’s not that I don’t love my family, I really do. It’s that I’m a living stereotype. I live in the house where my dad came of age, I’m most likely going to buy it, and it’s a mile from my parents’ house. This is typical West side Cincinnati behavior. If I had only gone to Elder High School, I would be on the cover of “West Side Cincinnati Magazine” (doesn’t exist). I can get over this issue, because I like living here. The house has a sweet bar in the basement – what more do I need?

Commitment to a house is a difficult thing. The idea of a 30 year loan is daunting, as well as the idea of being in debt for years to come. However, the housing market has made this house affordable enough for me to buy it within my budget, and I don’t think I’ll find a house with as much character for the same price.

Lack of a wife is probably the #1 reason why I shouldn’t buy a house. I think it would be awesome to get married & have a new beginning in a new place with a wife, but since there’s no “wives on the horizon” or no ladies “knocking down my door”, it’s as good a time as any to strike while the iron’s hot.

Oh, I also got my taxes done last night. It’s not even February. BOOYAH!

Anyway, that’s my 800+ words on what I’ve been thinking about lately. I leave you with an awesome picture sent to me by my friend Big Al. Until next time…

This picture makes me cold.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Mom
    January 26, 2011 at 11:09 am

    Don’t worry about #3 – we will be moving miles away from you in a year or two. Then if you marry and have kids, you will wish I was still here to babysit.

  2. January 27, 2011 at 6:25 pm

    I recommend The Complete Joy of Homebrewing, by Charlie Papazian http://su.pr/6iK9fz. That’ll teach you all the basics you’ll need to know.

  3. Lisa
    January 31, 2011 at 3:34 pm

    You are already so manly. If you keep this up you will have so many girls knocking down your door, you won’t know what to do.

    Regarding the beer brewing. I highly recommend that you organize a brewing guild (is that manly sounding or what?). Do a little brewing party to get things started and another one when the beer is ready. Because both the brewing and the drinking parts are best as social activities.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

